top of page

Song of the Phoenix

Trodden down and beaten out,

That is me for you and whole of the world.

While inside me I still shout,

"Wait to see my rage unfurled".

Since long have I been messed and marred,

Raped, ravaged, killed and scavenged.

Undaunted still I have dared

To get all those wrongs avenged.

Bearing flogs on bloodstained backs,

With burning tyres around the neck.

So many times those malignant knacks

Have left me shambling, a complete wreck.

Withered soul and parched hopes,

My modesty clad only in tatters.

Around dark corners my soul gropes

To think that all this hardly matters.

You want to know who I am,

And I shall tell you in good time.

I have been robbed from grave to pram,

For neither reason nor rhyme.

When wars were fought and lives were lost,

When men decided these were needs.

My heart was caught in unthawed frost

My being collapsed under those deeds.

Hiroshima could not finish me,

Nor could any bloody apartheid.

I shall stay and forever be

And rise forever from the dead.

Changing world and changing days,

Can only hurt me and hurt me more.

But these can never mend my ways,

For I shall rise in full galore.

The planet sways under your weight,

And nature collapses under your feet.

But I conspire to keep you straight,

And cajole you to a quiet retreat.

Pained I am that you call yourselves human,

And yet carefully deign to forget me.

Yet I shall redeem the bestial and inhuman,

For I am the phoenix called 'HUMANITY'.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page